Asperges

Asparagus

Even though there are over 300 asparagus varieties out there, we usually only find green, white, and sometimes purple asparagus in the produce section.

How to choose

Asparagus comes in spears that are either very thin or rather plump, but one thing is certain, the green variety is the most popular. Choose spears that are firm and breakable, with vividly coloured tips that are closed tightly and free of blemishes.

How to store

Asparagus spears are very fragile and keep between three days and one week in the fridge wrapped in a damp towel. You can also store them standing in a pitcher filled with some water and covered in plastic wrap.

In the freezer, blanched asparagus can be kept about five months in an airtight plastic bag.

How to enjoy

Thin asparagus spears need no special prep before eating, but it’s best to break off the ends of the plumper ones: bend the spear end gently with your hands; it should break off at the juncture where soft meets hard.

The spears can then be boiled, steam-cooked, microwaved, sautéed, or simply grilled. Opt for tender doneness so spears are neither too hard nor too soft, and still hold all their nutritional value.

Asperges

Asperges

Bien qu’il existe plus de 300 variétés d’asperges, on n’en retrouve généralement que des vertes, des blanches et parfois des violettes au rayon des légumes.

Comment les choisir

Parfois très fine ou parfois dodue, l’asperge verte est la plus populaire. Favorisez des asperges dont les tiges sont fermes et cassantes, avec des têtes bien fermées d’une couleur vive et sans taches.

Comment les conserver

L’asperge est très fragile et peut se garder de trois jours à une semaine au réfrigérateur, enrobée d’un linge humide. Vous pouvez aussi la conserver debout dans un pichet rempli d’un peu d’eau et couvert d’une pellicule de plastique.

Au congélateur, les asperges blanchies peuvent se conserver environ cinq mois dans un sac en plastique hermétique.

Comment les déguster

Les asperges fines n’ont pas besoin de traitement particulier avant leur consommation, mais il est préférable de casser l’extrémité des plus grosses. Pour retirer la partie coriace, courbez la base des tiges avec les mains et elles se casseront à la jointure.

Les asperges peuvent ensuite être bouillies, cuites à la vapeur, au four à micro-ondes, à la poêle ou tout simplement grillées. Favorisez une cuisson tendre afin d’obtenir des asperges ni trop fermes ni trop molles, qui auront gardé tous leurs bienfaits nutritionnels.